Short Story Prize

The Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize was launched in 2019. Our aim is to celebrate short stories and to give new or emerging writers the chance to be published, some encouragement and a little financial assistance to write.

Each year we publish an anthology of the twelve longlisted stories in that year’s competition. We’re looking for new, exciting, and diverse voices.

PODCAST: Listen to 2020 1st Prize winner Alice Haworth-Booth chat to our bookseller/SSP director Kate Ellis and MIR’s Peter J Coles about her winning story ‘The Closed Door’, writing, climate change and books.

‘Full of verve, emotional enquiry and imagination.’ Harriet Moore

‘An illuminating and vivid range of stories from an exciting array of new voices already so accomplished in their craft.’ Sharmaine Lovegrove

‘I really appreciate the range and ambition on display in these stories. These are writers putting work into voice and craft rather than relying on event alone, and that’s what makes their work persist in the mind.’ Chris Power

Featuring stories from: Lucy Sweeney Byrne, Rea Dennhardt, Kevin Dyer, Alice Haworth-Booth, Jack Houston, K. Lockwood Jefford, Huma Qureshi, Gemma Reeves, Han Smith, Kieran Toms, Rajasree Variyar & Andrea Watts.

Foreword by Denise Jones & introduction by Kate Ellis.

Congratulations to the 2020 Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize winners!

1st Prize: The Closed Door by Alice Haworth-Booth

2nd Prize: To Those Born Later by Kieran Toms

3rd Prize: Fix by K. Lockwood Jefford. 

Watch our judges Sharmaine LovegroveHarriet Moore and Chris Power announce the winners, and

Brick Lane Bookshop owner Denise Jones and Short Story Prize Director Kate Ellis thank everyone who made the prize happen. 

Looking for some inspiration? Here’s some of our recent favourites: