In Case of Emergency

£8.99

When Bel Kumar leaves for work in the morning, the last thing she expects is wake up in hospital later that day – with her ex from four years ago by her bedside. It turns out that she’s had a near-death accident outside work and she urgently needs to replace her ex with another next of kin on her HR form. But who can Bel turn to in a crisis? She’s never been good at asking for help, but she knows she needs to reconnect with the most important people from her past. Within days she’s navigating complex family history, old school friendships and romantic encounters – with consequences she never could have predicted. Perhaps the worst day of Bel’s life will turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to her.

In stock

Description

‘It is a joy to read a debut that has such heart, humour, and pathos’ Taylor Jenkins Reid
‘The book of the summer’ Stylist
‘A witty, thought-provoking read’ Woman and Home
___________________________________________

When Bel Kumar leaves for work in the morning, the last thing she expects is wake up in hospital later that day – with her ex from four years ago by her bedside.

It turns out that:

1) She’s had a near-death accident outside work
2) She urgently needs to replace her ex with another next of kin on her HR form

But who can Bel turn to in a crisis? She’s never been good at asking for help, but she knows she needs to reconnect with the most important people from her past.

Within days she’s navigating complex family history, old school friendships and romantic encounters – with consequences she never could have predicted.

Perhaps the worst day of Bel’s life will turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to her . . .
___________________________________________

‘An instant rom-com classic’ Lindsey Kelk

‘Switching between the past and present, In Case of Emergency is a novel of self-realisation and the freeing power of defying both familial and societal expectations. It’s simply impossible not to root for Bel’ CultureFly

‘Fans of Dolly Alderton’s Ghosts and Emma Jane Unsworth’s Adults will adore IN CASE OF EMERGENCY. This book reminds us all that no matter how capable we might be, we’re nothing if not properly connected to those around us. A remarkable and thought-provoking debut!’ Laura Jane Williams

‘A gorgeous read full of warmth, humour and relatable moments that make you realise you’re less alone in the world. The perfect book to curl up with this summer. I adored it’ Salma El-Wardany

‘Funny and clever with a ton of swagger’ Stacey Duguid

‘I inhaled this book. You really root for Poorna’s characters. They’re both relatable and relevant’ Natasha Devon

‘We loved this warm and thoughtful read’ Sun on Sunday

‘Journalist Bell writes with panache about a young woman finding herself… and finding what matters’ Daily Mail

‘This smart and incisive debut novel explores the pressures placed on women and reflects the full intricacies, joys and nuance of life as a British South Asian woman in the UK today’ Stylist

‘Bel is wonderfully flawed and relatable, and this is a witty, thought-provoking read. Great 90’s references too’ Woman Magazine

‘There’s a moment in which the author describes the first sparks of love, a feeling so small yet unstoppable, with such aching delicacy it took my breath away’ Ranvir Singh

‘In Case of Emergency explored some intricacies of growing up British Indian and the way Bel and her sister have taken radically different paths in life’ Better Words

Additional information

Weight298 g
Dimensions19812926 mm