EVENT – Jem Calder in conversation with Nicole Flattery 19/5/22

£5.00

In stock

Category:

Description

Join us at the bookshop for an evening with Jem Calder and Nicole Flattery as they discuss Jem’s debut collection, Reward System.

For fans of Jenny Offill and Patricia Lockwood, audacious fictions of a generation wondering: what nowReward System is a set of ultra-contemporary and electrifyingly fresh fictions, of a generation meshed in Zooms and lockdowns, loneliness and love.

‘An exhilarating and beautiful book by an extraordinarily gifted writer. Reading these stories, I found myself thinking newly and differently about contemporary life’ – Sally Rooney
‘A crushing and clear-sighted portrayal of people dodging the alienation of work, money and life’s digital shorelines, told through short scenes so brilliantly observed I felt the reality of a generation in every detail’ – Holly Pester

Jem Calder was born in Cambridge, and lives and works in London. His fiction has been published in The Stinging Fly and Granta. Reward System is his first book.
Nicole Flattery’s work has been published in the Stinging Fly, the White Review, the Dublin Review, BBC Radio 4, the Irish Times, Winter Papers and the 2019 Faber anthology of new Irish writing. Her story ‘Track’ won the 2017 White Review Short Story Prize. She lives in Galway.

Tickets are £5, the cost of which is redeemable against any book purchase made on the night.