Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize Longlist 2021


In stock

ISBN: 9781916208223 Category:


Twelve Stories selected from 734 entries to the 2021 Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize

Stories from Madeleine Dunnigan, Katherine Gutierrez, Kate Horsley, Aoife Inman, Aden Jamal, Ramya Jegatheesan, Nicholas Kemp, Leeor Ohayon, JP Pangilinan-O’Brien, Aisha Phoenix, Danielle Vrublevskis, and Nayela Wickramasuriya, with a foreword by Brick Lane Bookshop owner Denise Jones and an introduction by project manager Kate Ellis.

‘The longlist gave such diverse reading pleasures, yet every story, without exception, allowed me to enter worlds which felt carefully realised and full of possibility. As a short story writer and reader, I don’t need much convincing of the special power of the form, but these entries confirmed it once more – and most emphatically!’
Wendy Erskine

‘A joy to discover these fresh voices in fiction. This collection of stories is exciting in range and originality, both in subject and form.’
Elise Dillsworth

‘I was struck by the breadth, ambition and flair of the stories in the prize. This anthology presents a thrilling sample of distinctive new talent at work today and highlights some exciting emerging writers for us all to follow.’
Kishani Widyaratna