Berlin

£9.99

When Daphne Ferber arrives in Berlin for a fresh start in a thrilling new city, the last thing she expects is to run into more drama than she left behind. Of course, she knew she’d need to do the usual: make friends, acquire lovers, grapple with German and a whole new way of life. She even expected the long nights gorging alone on family-sized jars of Nutella, and the pitfalls of online dating in another language. The paranoia, the second-guessing of her every choice, the covert behaviours? Probably come with the territory. But one night, something strange, dangerous and entirely unexpected intervenes, and life in bohemian Kreuzberg suddenly doesn’t seem so cool. Just how much trouble is Daphne in, and who – or what – is out to get her?

In stock

Description

‘One for Sally Rooney fans’ Sunday Telegraph

‘Compelling, raw and thrillingly strangeMONA AWAD, author of Bunny

‘Cinematic and confessional . . . electric’ The New York Times

—–

*FOR FANS OF CLEOPATRA AND FRANKENSTEIN, MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION and EXCITING TIMES*

When Daphne Ferber arrives in Berlin for a fresh start in a thrilling new city, the last thing she expects is to run into more drama than she left behind.

Of course, she knew she’d need to do the usual: make friends, acquire lovers, grapple with German and a whole new way of life. She even expected the long nights gorging alone on family-sized jars of Nutella, and the pitfalls of online dating in another language. The paranoia, the second-guessing of her every choice, the covert behaviours? Probably come with the territory.

But one night, something strange, dangerous and entirely unexpected intervenes, and life in bohemian Kreuzberg suddenly doesn’t seem so cool.

Just how much trouble is Daphne in, and who – or what – is out to get her?

Channelling the modern female experience with razor-sharp observation and witty flair, Berlin announces Bea Setton as an electrifying literary voice for her generation.

‘Scintillating . . . wonderfully funny’ Financial Times

‘Terrific . . . [an] unsettling and compelling read’ Observer

‘I was completely absorbed’ FRANCESCA REECE, author of Voyeur

‘Cinematically vivid, and refreshingly honest’ LISA HALLIDAY, author of Asymmetry

Additional information

Weight180 g
Dimensions20012515 mm