Home

Brick Lane Bookshop is an independent bookshop in Tower Hamlets, London, established in 1978.

We are open every day 10am – 6pm.

You can shop online or in person. If you can’t find the book you’re looking for, please get in touch – we can order most books published in the UK by the following working day.

As a thank you to our loyal local customers, we’re offering free delivery to Tower Hamlets residents for orders over £15.

We hope to see you soon!


The Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize

The Short Story Prize was launched in 2019 and our aim is to celebrate short stories, to give new writers the chance to be published, encouragement and some financial assistance to write.

Each year we publish an anthology of the twelve longlisted stories. We’re looking for new, exciting, and diverse voices.

Find out more about the 2022 Short Story Prize here.

Buy a copy of the 2021 edition here.

You can still get a copy of the 2020 anthology here.


April Bestsellers


The BLB Podcast

The BLB Podcast is a new project from Brick Lane Bookshop where we interrogate the short story form. We talk about why we love short stories, the writing process and how to get published.

Listen here, or on your preferred podcast app:
AppleSpotifyAnchorPocketcasts


Events

19/5/22, 7pm
Reward System – Jem Calder

Jem Calder in conversation with Nicole Flattery

Join us at the bookshop for an evening with Jem Calder and Nicole Flattery as they discuss Jem’s debut collection, Reward System.
For fans of Jenny Offill and Patricia Lockwood, Reward System is a set of ultra-contemporary and electrifyingly fresh fictions, of a generation meshed in Zooms and lockdowns, loneliness and love.

Click here for tickets and full details.


Gift Cards




Gift cards for our shop can now be bought online – load up any amount you want and have it emailed direct to the recipient.


Can be used to buy books online, and in-store too!


Join our Mailing List

We’ll send you regular emails featuring new stock, special offers, upcoming events and everything else Brick Lane Bookshop!


Find us on Social Media


Poet For Hire

Richard Knight is a poet-for-hire, and can be found on certain weekends set up outside our shop with his typewriter. Pay what you want and have a poem written for you while you browse!

You can find his schedule here.


Our History

Publishing, theatre, visual arts, writing, film, bookselling, events – our shop grew out of a vibrant local network of innovative activities. Ideas often sparked each other – pushing us into new, unexpected directions…

Explore our rich history, from the 70s all the way to the present, here.